66th Annual & Scientific Meeting 2018 - Dr. John Fleetwood Student Award

*Dr. John Fleetwood, founder of the Irish Gerontological Society

The 2018 Dr. John Fleetwood Award was won by Clare Tracey of the School of Medicine, Dentistry and Biomedical Sciences, Queen's University Belfast.  The abstract title was: The Impact of Area Based Socioeconomic Deprivation on Osteoporosis.

In 2017 the medal was awarded to Charlie Dunmore of Aintree University Hospital and School of Medicine, University of Liverpool for his abstract Social Determinants and Older People Hospital Outpatient Non-Attendance

In 2016 the medal was awarded to  Adam Dyer of Centre for Ageing, Neuroscience and the Humanities, Tallaght Hospital, Dublin, Ireland for his abstract Investigating Cognitive Impairment in the Emergency Department: the Role of the Informant History.

In 2014, the inaugural Dr. John Fleetwood medal was awarded to Catherine O'Dare of Trinity College Dublin for her abstract “Words Open Windows”: Older Women’s Experiences of Adult Literacy Service


IGS Student Criteria

At the time of submission of your abstract, if you are an undergraduate student or a student in a graduate entry programme and are the primary author, you may like to enter your submission for the IGS student award.

A student for IGS meetings is defined as a person registered in a full time undergraduate or in a graduate entry programme. Graduate entry programme students are those undertaking an accelerated degree e.g. in medicine, allied health discipline or another recognised graduate programme.

You are classed as a student for IGS meetings if at the time of submission of your abstract on 1st May 2018 you were enrolled in an undergraduate or graduate entry programme or you currently still are for the coming academic year.

Please note: If you are undertaking a MD, MSc, PhD, diploma or any further education you are not classed as a student for the purpose of IGS meetings.

Student identification will be required at time of registration.

If you are unsure whether you meet the IGS student criteria please contact Elaine O Connor for verification, secretary@irishgerontology.com


*Dr. John Fleetwood Award

This award is presented at the society’s annual and scientific meeting. It is awarded to an undergraduate student who distinguishes herself or himself as the primary and presenting author of an oral or poster abstract which is judged to be of outstanding merit.

Dr. John Fleetwood was a founding member of the Irish Gerontological Society.  Born in Edinburgh, John Fleetwood graduated in medicine from University College Dublin.  He practiced as a general practitioner in Blackrock Co. Dublin and at Our Lady’s Hospice & Care Services in Harold’s Cross.

In 1949, Dr. Fleetwood recognised that knowledge about the social medical care of the elderly in Ireland was scanty.  In pursuit of improving his own knowledge, he attended a meeting of the Medical Society for the Care of the Elderly (later renamed the British Geriatrics Society). In 1950, Dr. Fleetwood attended the International Association of Gerontology (now IAGG) meeting in Liege.  He was elected to its governing body as a delegate of ‘the Irish Gerontological Society’ (IGS).

Following Dr. Fleetwood’s return from Liege, the first meeting of the IGS took place on 23 October 1950.  Six people attended.  Prof. Jerry Jessop, Professor of Physiology at the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland was elected as President and Dr. Fleetwood as the society’s first Honorary Secretary.