67th IGS Annual & Scientific Meeting 2019 - Presidential Medal Award

The 2019 Presidential Medal was presented by IGS President Dr. Diarmuid O'Shea to Prof. James Bernard Walsh, Consultant Geriatrician at St. James's Hospital. Prof. Walsh, a UCC graduate, began his career as a geriatrician with Dr. John Hyland in Cork.  We congratulate him, his wife Aileen, family, colleagues and friends who joined us in acknowledging the huge contribution he has made over his career to Medicine, Geriatrics and Care of Older People across the island of Ireland.


The Presidential Medal is the Irish Gerontological Society’s highest honour.  It is presented to individuals who have transformed the lives of older people through especially meritorious contributions to ageing research, education and practice.  

Dr. John Fleetwood (1993)

Mr. Michael Coote (1994)

Dr. Michael Hyland (2012)

Dr. John Lavan (2013)

Dr. Jaques Noel (2013)

Dr. Denis Keating (2014)

Prof. Cillian Twomey (2016)

Prof. Davis Coakley (2016)

Prof. Rose Anne Kenny (2017)

Dr. Morgan Crowe (2018)

Prof. James Bernard Walsh (2019)