Professor Davis Coakley Award

This award is presented at the society’s Annual and Scientific Meeting. It is awarded to an individual who distinguishes themselves as the artist of a piece which is judged to be of outstanding merit.

Professor Davis Coakley (1946-2022) was an academic geriatrician of the highest international standing; he championed the development of geriatric medicine throughout the country. As a direct result of his initiatives physicians in the specialty now form the largest subspecialty in medicine in Ireland.  

He made a sterling contribution to the Irish Gerontological Society. Throughout his life, he vigorously promoted the integration of medicine and the humanities, with a particular focus on the literary arts. To honour Professor Coakley’s legacy, the Davis Coakley Award has been established and will be awarded at IGS Annual Scientific Meetings commencing from 2023 onwards.

Prof Davis Coakley

Eligibility for the award: This award focuses on inclusivity and encourages submissions from members from a variety of backgrounds.

Eligibility to submit is as follows (one or more criteria):

  • Member of IGS
  • Individual engaged in working with/caring for older person(s)
  • Nursing, Medical or Health and Social Care Practitioner (including those who are retired)
  • Students completing training in above disciplines or engaged in working with/caring for older persons are also eligible to apply


Selection process

  • Submissions may include: prose piece, poem, artwork (of any medium), sculpture
  • Submissions should be inspired by the themes of geriatric medicine, ageing, or healthy ageing and may be based on the theme of the conference
  • Applicants are invited to apply via email to including the following:
    • Name
    • Profession
    • Art work: in the case of a literary artwork submission please attach as a pdf file, in the case of other artwork please submit a photograph of the piece.
  • The deadline for submissions is midnight on 5th June 2023. Applicants will be notified of outcome in July and the top 10 submissions will be invited to showcase their work at the Annual and Scientific Meeting in September where a winner will be announced.